Fair Housing Law

Established policies for fair housing

Legislation contained in the Civil Rights Act of 1998, Title VIII, as amended, is commonly referred to as the Fair Housing Act. This law established a national policy of providing fair housing throughout the United States. The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of:

  • Race or color
  • National origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Family status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians; pregnant women; and people securing custody of children under the age of 18.)
  • Handicap

In the sale and rental of housing, no one may discriminate against families based on the above categories by taking the following actions:

  • Refusing to rent or sell housing
  • Refusing to negotiate housing
  • Making housing unavailable
  • Denying a dwelling
  • Setting different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling.

Fair housing is a right afforded to all persons seeking housing, whether they are Housing Choice participants or private market renters. Owners and landlords are obligated to comply with the law that guarantees this right.

Arrow Up